
 

 

Rule 794. Continuing Legal Education Requirement 

 (a) Hours Required 

 Except as provided by Rules 791 or 793, every Illinois attorney subject to these Rules shall be 
required to complete 30 hours of CLE activity during the attorney’s two-year reporting period (as 

determined on the basis of the lawyer’s last name pursuant to paragraph (b), below) ending on 
June 30. 

 (b) Reporting Period 

 The applicable two-year reporting period shall begin on July 1 of even-numbered years for 
lawyers whose last names begin with the letters A through M, and on July 1 of odd -numbered 

years for lawyers whose last names begin with the letters N through Z. 

 (c) Carryover of Hours 

 (1) For attorneys with two-year reporting periods 

 All CLE hours may be earned in one year or split in any manner between the two-year 
reporting period. 

 An attorney who earns more than the required 30 CLE hours for a two-year reporting period 
may carry over to the next reporting period a maximum of 10 hours. Those carryover hours 
may include up to six hours approved for professional responsibility credit. Professional 

responsibility credit carried over to the next reporting period may be used to meet the 
professional responsibility requirement of the next reporting period.  

 (2) For newly-admitted attorneys subject to Rule 793 

 A newly-admitted attorney may carry over to his or her first two-year reporting period a 
maximum of 15 CLE hours earned in excess of those required by Rule 793(c) or Rule 793(f)(2) 

if those excess hours were earned after the attorney’s admission to the Illinois bar and before 
the start of the attorney’s first two-year reporting period. Those carryover hours may include 

up to six hours approved for professional responsibility credit. Professional responsibility 
credit carried over to the next reporting period may be used to meet the professional 
responsibility requirement of the next reporting period. Attorneys removed from the master 

roll pursuant to Rule 796(e) for failure to comply with their newly-admitted attorney 
requirement and who are reinstated to the master roll pursuant to Rule 796(h) before the start 

of their first two-year reporting period may carry over a maximum of 15 CLE hours, including 
up to six hours approved for professional responsibility credit, earned after reinstatement but 
before the start of their first two-year reporting period. 

 (d) Professional Responsibility Requirement 

 (1) Each attorney subject to these Rules shall complete a minimum of six of the total CLE 

hours for each two-year reporting period in the area of professionalism, civility, legal ethics, 
sexual harassment prevention, diversity and inclusion, or mental health and substance abuse.  

 (2) Beginning with the two-year reporting period ending June 30, 2019, these minimum 

six hours shall include either completing the Rule 795(d)(11) yearlong Lawyer-to-Lawyer 
Mentoring Program or:  

 (i) At least one hour in the area of diversity and inclusion and  
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 (ii) At least one hour in the area of mental health and substance abuse.  

  

Adopted September 29, 2005, effective immediately; amended October 1, 2010, effective immediately; 
amended September 27, 2011, effective immediately; amended Apr. 3, 2017; eff. July 1, 2017; amended 
Apr. 11, 2023, eff. immediately; amended Jan. 31, 2024, eff. Feb. 1, 2024. 
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