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JUSTICE LAMPKIN delivered the judgment of the court.
Presiding Justice Gordon and Justice Reyes concurred in the judgment.

ORDER

11 Held: We modify defendant’s fines and fees order, but affirm the judgment in all other
respects.

12 Following a bench trial, defendant Tyrese Roland was found guilty of unlawful use of a
weapon by a felon (720 ILCS 5/24-1.1(a) (West 2012)) and sentenced to five years’
imprisonment. On appeal, defendant’s challenges the fines and fees order imposed by the trial
court against him. We modify his fines and fees order, but affirm his judgment in all other

respects.
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13 Defendant was charged with one count of being an armed habitual criminal, two counts
of unlawful use of a weapon by a felon and two counts of aggravated unlawful use of a weapon.
14  Attrial, Chicago police sergeant Tyrone Pendarvis testified that, on August 29, 2013, he
was assisting in the execution of a search warrant on a second-floor apartment located on the
4100 block of South Indiana Avenue. As Pendarvis entered the residence, he observed multiple
men, including defendant, run from their locations out the rear of the residence. Pendarvis
followed defendant to a landing which had stairs leading up to a third floor and down to the first
floor. Pendarvis observed defendant run up the stairs to the third floor, stop at the landing and
drop a firearm out of an open window. Pendarvis continued chasing defendant and eventually
apprehended him on the third floor. Chicago police officer Marcus Duncan searched garbage
cans outside the apartment building located below the window and found a loaded firearm.
Duncan showed the firearm to Pendarvis, who identified it as the one he saw defendant drop. The
State introduced certified copies of conviction, showing defendant had been convicted of
aggravated battery in case number 11 CF 1214 and manufacture or delivery of a controlled
substance in case number 09 CF 2256.

15  The trial court found defendant guilty of all five counts. It subsequently vacated the
armed habitual criminal count, merged the remaining counts and sentenced defendant to five
years’ imprisonment for unlawful use of a weapon by a felon. It also assessed $479 in fines and
fees against him. This appeal followed.

16 Defendant contends that the trial court improperly imposed certain monetary assessments

against him and failed to give him $5 per day of presentence custody credit against other
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monetary assessments which, he argues, qualified as fines. Although defendant concedes he did
not challenge these assessments in the trial court, a reviewing court may modify a fines and fees
order without remanding the matter to the trial court under Illinois Supreme Court Rule
615(b)(1) (People v. Bryant, 2016 IL App (1st) 140421, 1 22), and “a defendant may request
presentence [custody] credit for the first time on appeal.” People v. Lake, 2015 IL App (3d)
140031, 1 31. We review the propriety of a trial court’s imposition of fines and fees de novo.
People v. Bowen, 2015 IL App (1st) 132046, { 60.

17 Defendant first argues, and the State correctly concedes, that the trial court improperly
imposed against him a $5 electronic citation assessment (705 ILCS 105/27.3e (West 2012)) and
a $2 public defender records automation assessment (55 ILCS 5/3-4012 (West 2012)).

18 The $5 electronic citation assessment applies only to defendants “in any traffic,
misdemeanor, municipal ordinance, or conservation case.” 705 ILCS 105/27.3e (West 2012).
Here, defendant was convicted of unlawful use of a weapon by a felon, a felony. See 720 ILCS
5/24-1.1(a), (e) (West 2012). Therefore, the trial court improperly imposed this assessment, and
we vacate it.

9  Although defendant initially argues that he should receive presentence custody credit
toward his $2 public defender records automation assessment, the State notes that defendant was
represented by private counsel, not the public defender, and thus the assessment is inapplicable
to his situation. In defendant’s reply brief, he agrees with the State. See People v. Taylor, 2016

IL App (1st) 141251, 1 30 (finding that, where the defendant “was represented by private counsel
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during trial,” the public defender records automation assessment was “inapplicable”). Therefore,
the trial court improperly imposed this assessment, and we vacate it.

110 Defendant next argues, and the State correctly concedes, that he is entitled to $5 per day
of presentence custody credit against the following assessments: a $10 mental health court
assessment (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(d-5) (West 2012)), a $5 youth diversion program assessment (55
ILCS 5/5-1101(e) (West 2012)), a $5 drug court assessment (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f) (West 2012)),
a $50 court system assessment (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(c) (West 2012)), a $15 state police operations
assessment (705 ILCS 105/27.3a(1.5) (West 2012)), and a $30 children’s advocacy center
assessment (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f-5) (West 2012)).

111 A defendant is entitled to a $5 credit for each day incarcerated toward the fines levied
against him. 725 ILCS 5/110-14(a) (West 2012). Fines and fees are distinguished based on their
purpose. People v. Graves, 235 Ill. 2d 244, 250 (2009). A fee is an assessment intended to “
‘recoup expenses incurred by the state,” or to compensate the state for some expenditure incurred
in prosecuting the defendant.” Id. (quoting People v. Jones, 223 1ll. 2d 569, 582 (2006)). An
assessment “is a fee if and only if it is intended to reimburse the state for some cost incurred in
defendant’s prosecution.” Jones, 223 Ill. 2d at 600. In contrast, a fine is punitive, “ ‘a pecuniary
punishment imposed as part of a sentence on a person convicted of a criminal offense.” ” Graves,
235 1ll. 2d at 250 (quoting Jones, 223 1ll. 2d at 581). Although an assessment may be statutorily
labeled as a “fee,” it nevertheless may still be a “fine,” despite the language used by our
legislature. Id. Here, defendant accumulated 737 days of presentence custody credit, and thus, he

is entitled to a maximum $3,685 credit toward his eligible fines.
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112  The mental health court assessment, youth diversion program assessment, drug court
assessment, court system assessment, state police operations assessment and children’s advocacy
center assessment are fines subject to presentence custody credit. See Graves, 235 Ill. 2d at 251-
55 (mental health court and youth diversion program assessments are fines); People v. Warren,
2016 1L App (4th) 120721-B, § 138 (drug court assessment is a fine); People v. Blanchard, 2015
IL App (1st) 132281, 1 22 (court system assessment is a fine); People v. Millsap, 2012 IL App
(4th) 110668, § 31 (state police operations assessment is a fine); People v. Lattimore, 2011 IL
App (1st) 093238, 1 107 (children’s advocacy center assessment is a fine). Therefore, defendant
must receive $5 per day of presentence custody credit toward these fines.

113 Defendant next argues that he must also receive $5 per day of presentence custody credit
against the following assessments: a $15 clerk automation assessment (705 ILCS 105/27.3a(1)
(West 2012)), a $15 clerk document storage assessment (705 ILCS 105/27.3c(a) (West 2012)),
and a $2 state’s attorney records automation assessment (55 ILCS 5/4-2002.1(c) (West 2012)).
Defendant asserts these assessments are fines because they do not seek to reimburse the state for
the costs of prosecuting a particular defendant. The State disagrees, arguing they are fees because
they seek to reimburse the state for the costs of prosecuting a particular defendant.

114  In People v. Tolliver, 363 Ill. App. 3d 94, 97 (2006), this court held that the clerk
automation assessment and clerk document storage assessment are both fees. The court reasoned
that the assessments are compensatory in nature and merely a collateral consequence of the

defendant’s conviction. Id.
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115 Defendant acknowledges the holding of Tolliver, but asserts that Tolliver predates People
v. Graves, 235 Ill. 2d 244, 250 (2009), wherein our supreme court held that, to be correctly
designated as a fee, an assessment must reimburse the State for a cost that was incurred in the
prosecution of the defendant. Defendant thus asserts that Tolliver’s analysis is not controlling or
persuasive. However, Tolliver used the same reasoning as later employed by our supreme court
in Graves, finding the assessments represented a portion of the overall costs incurred in the
prosecution of a defendant. Tolliver, 363 Ill. App. 3d at 97. Furthermore, cases following Graves
have recognized the clerk automation assessment and clerk document storage assessment as fees.
See People v. Larue, 2014 IL App (4th) 120595, 11 61-64 (recognizing clerk automation
assessment and clerk document storage assessment as fees); People v. Martino, 2012 IL App
(2d) 101244, 11 28-30 (same). Therefore, defendant is not entitled to presentence custody credit
toward these fees.

116 Lastly, concerning the state’s attorney records automation assessment, in People v.
Bowen, 2015 IL App (1st) 132046, 11 62-65, this court held the assessment is a fee because it is
intended to reimburse the state for expenses related to automated record-keeping systems. See
also People v. Reed, 2016 IL App (1st) 140498, 1 16 (finding the state’s attorney records
automation assessment is a fee); but see People v. Camacho, 2016 IL App (1st) 140604, { 56
(finding the state’s attorney records automation assessment is a fine because it does not
compensate the state for costs associated in prosecuting a particular defendant). As we agree
with Bowen and Reed, we find defendant is therefore not entitled to presentence custody credit

toward the state’s attorney records automation fee.
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117  Insum, we order the clerk of the circuit court to (1) vacate defendant’s $5 electronic
citation assessment and $2 Public Defender records automation assessment, and (2) award
defendant $5 per day of presentence custody credit toward his $10 mental health court fine, $5
youth diversion program fine, $5 drug court fine, $50 court system fine, $15 state police
operations fine and $30 children’s advocacy center fine, resulting in a total credit in the amount
of $115.

118 For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the circuit court of Cook County is affirmed in
all other respects.

119 Affirmed as modified.



