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ORDER

11 Held: The fines, fees, and costs order is corrected to reflect vacatur of one fine and
presentence custody credit against applicable fines.

12 Following a bench trial, defendant Anthony Daniels was convicted of attempted robbery
(720 ILCS 5/8-4, 18-1(a) (West 2016)) and sentenced to 42 months in prison. On appeal,
defendant does not challenge his conviction or sentence. He contends only that the fines, fees,

and costs order should be corrected to vacate one fine and to apply per diem presentence custody
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credit to a number of other assessed fines. For the reasons that follow, we order correction of the

fines, fees, and costs order.

13 Defendant was charged by information with one count of attempted robbery. At trial, the
State presented evidence that on April 8, 2016, defendant approached the victim on foot on a
Chicago sidewalk. Defendant said “give it up” and reached into the victim’s pocket, which
contained money. During this interaction, two police officers pulled up in an unmarked vehicle

and arrested defendant.

4  The trial court found defendant guilty of attempted robbery. Subsequently, the court
sentenced defendant to 42 months in prison. The court also imposed $489 in fines, fees, and
costs, and indicated that defendant would be credited with 393 days of presentence custody.
While the written order assessing fines, fees, and costs includes a preprinted notation that
“Allowable credit toward fine will be calculated,” it does not specify the amount of monetary

credit defendant would receive.

5  On appeal, defendant contends that this court should vacate one fine imposed by the trial
court and grant him $5-per-day presentence custody credit against seven other assessments. He
acknowledges that he did not challenge his fines and fees at sentencing or in a postsentencing
motion. Nevertheless, defendant argues that we may reach his arguments regarding fines and
fees via Illinois Supreme Court Rule 615(b), under the doctrine of plain error, or because trial
counsel was ineffective. Relying on People v. Mullen, 2018 IL App (1st) 152306, { 38, the State
has responded that this court may review unpreserved claims regarding monetary assessments

under the plain error doctrine. By taking this position, the State has waived any forfeiture
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argument. People v. Brown, 2018 IL App (1st) 160924, T 25; People v. Smith, 2018 IL App (1st)

151402, 9 7.

6  We note that our Supreme Court recently adopted new Illinois Supreme Court Rule 472,
which sets forth the procedure in criminal cases for correcting sentencing errors in, as relevant
here, the “imposition or calculation of fines, fees, and assessments or costs” and “application of
per diem credit against fines.” Ill. S. Ct. R. 472(a)(1), (2) (eff. Mar. 1, 2019). Rule 472 provides
that, effective March 1, 2019, the circuit court retains jurisdiction to correct these errors at any
time following judgment in a criminal case, even during the pendency of an appeal. People v.
Barr, 2019 IL App (1st) 163035, 11 5-6 (citing Ill. S. Ct. R. 472(a) (eff. Mar. 1, 2019)). “No
appeal may be taken” on the ground of any of the sentencing errors enumerated in the rule unless
that alleged error “has first been raised in the circuit court.” lll. S. Ct. R. 472(c) (eff. Mar. 1,

2019).

17 Defendant here did not raise his challenges to the fines and fees order in the circuit court
and, instead, raises them for the first time on appeal. However, as defendant filed his notice of
appeal prior to the effective date of Rule 472 and this court has found that the rule applies
prospectively, we will address the merits of his claims. Barr, 2019 IL App (1st) 163035, | 6, 8,

15. Our review is de novo. Id. § 16.

18  Defendant first contends that we must vacate the $25 Violent Crime Victim Assistance
fine imposed pursuant to section 10(c) of the Violent Crime Victims Assistance Act. 725 ILCS
240/10(c) (West 2010). Defendant asserts, and the State correctly concedes, that subsection (c),
which provided for this assessment, was only effective through July 15, 2012. See Pub. Act 97-

816, 8 10 (eff. July 16, 2012) (amending 725 ILCS 240/10). Because the instant crime was
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committed after this date, the assessment should not have been imposed. As such, we vacate the

assessment.

19 Defendant next contends that he is entitled to per diem presentence custody credit against
seven assessments imposed by the trial court, even though all seven are designated on the fines,
fees, and costs order as “FEES AND COSTS NOT OFFSET BY THE $5 PER-DAY PRE-
SENTENCE INCARCERATION CREDIT.” (Emphasis in original.) These seven assessments
are (in order of listing on the preprinted fines, fees, and costs form): the $190 Felony Complaint
Filed (Clerk) fee (705 ILCS 105/27.2a(w)(1)(A) (West 2016)); the $25 Automation (Clerk) fee
(705 ILCS 105/27.3a(1) (West 2016)); the $15 State Police Operations Fee (705 ILCS
27.3a(1.5), (5) (West 2016)); the $2 Public Defender Records Automation Fee (55 ILCS 5/3-
4012 (West 2016)); the $2 State’s Attorney Records Automation Fee (55 ILCS 5/4-2002.1(c)
(West 2016)); the $25 Document Storage (Clerk) fee (705 ILCS 105/27.3c (West 2016)); and a

$50 Court System fee (55 ILCS 5/5-110(c) (West 2016)).

110  Under section 110-14(a) of the Code of Criminal Procedure of 1963, an offender who has
been assessed one or more fines is entitled to a $5-per-day credit for time spent in presentence
custody as a result of the offense for which the sentence was imposed. 725 ILCS 5/110-14(a)
(West 2016). It is well-established that the presentence custody credit applies only to reduce
fines, not fees. People v. Clark, 2018 IL 122495, § 10. A “fine” is punitive in nature, while a
“fee” is assessed in order to compensate the State or recoup expenses incurred by the State in
prosecuting a defendant. Id. § 11. Here, the trial court credited defendant with 393 days of

presentence custody, which would entitle him to up to $1,965 in per diem credit against his fines.
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111 The State agrees with defendant that he is entitled to presentence incarceration credit
against two assessments he has identified: the $15 State Police Operations Fee and the $50 Court
System fee. We accept the State’s concession and hold that these assessments are fines against
which defendant can receive $5-per-day credit for the time he spent in presentence custody. See
People v. Robinson, 2017 IL App (1st) 161595, { 135 (both the $15 State Police Operations Fee

and the $50 Court System fee are fines subject to per diem credit).

112 The State does not concede defendant’s claim for credit against the remaining five
assessments he has identified: the $190 Felony Complaint fee, the $25 Automation (Clerk) fee,
the $2 Public Defender Records Automation Fee, the $2 State’s Attorney Records Automation
Fee, and the $25 Document Storage (Clerk) fee. After defendant filed his brief in this appeal, our
supreme court held in People v. Clark that all five of these assessments are fees, not fines, and
therefore not subject to offset by the $5-per-day presentence custody credit. Clark, 2018 IL
122495, 11 22, 27, 34, 41, 49. Based on Clark, we conclude that these five assessments are fees

and, therefore, may not be offset by defendant’s presentence custody credit.

113 For the reasons explained above, we affirm defendant’s conviction and sentence and
vacate the $25 Violent Crime Victim Assistance fine. We further find that the $15 State Police
Operations Fee and the $50 Court System fee are offset by presentence custody credit. Taking
into account that the order assessing fines, fees, and costs already correctly reflects that
defendant is entitled to $50 of per diem credit (for the $10 Mental Health Court fine (55 ILCS
5/5-1101(d-5) (West 2016)), the $5 Youth Diversion / Peer Court fine (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(e)

(West 2016)), the $5 Drug Court fine (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f) (West 2016)), and the $30 Children’s
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Advocacy Center fine (55 ILCS 5/5-1101(f-5) (West 2016)), the total amount of fines, fees, and

costs is reduced from $489 to $349. We correct the fines, fees, and costs order accordingly.

114 Affirmed; fines, fees, and costs order corrected.



