
M.R. 3140 

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

Order entered June 5, 2012.

(Deleted material is struck through and new material is underscored.)

Effective immediately, Supreme Court Rules 756, 778, 791 and 799 are amended, as
follows.

Amended Rule 756

Rule 756. Registration and Fees

(a) Annual Registration Required. Except as hereinafter provided, every
attorney admitted to practice law in this state shall register and pay an annual
registration fee to the Commission on or before the first day of January. Except as
provided below, all fees and penalties shall be retained as a part of the disciplinary
fund. The following schedule shall apply beginning with registration for 2012 and
until further order of the court:

(1) No registration fee is required of an attorney admitted to the bar less than
one year before the first day of January for which the registration fee is due; an
attorney admitted to the bar for more than one year but less than three years
before the first day of January for which the registration fee is due shall pay an
annual registration fee of $105; an attorney admitted to the bar for more than
three years before the first day of January for which the registration fee is due
shall pay an annual registration fee of $289 $342, out of which $7 shall be
remitted to the Lawyers’ Assistance Program Fund, $42 $95 shall be remitted to
the Lawyers Trust Fund, $15 shall be remitted to the Supreme Court Commission
on Professionalism, and $25 shall be remitted to the Client Protection Program
Trust Fund. For purposes of this rule, the time shall be computed from the date
of an attorney’s initial admission to practice in any jurisdiction in the United
States.

(2) An attorney in the Armed Forces of the United States shall be exempt
from paying a registration fee until the first day of January following discharge.

(3) An attorney who has reached the age of 75 years shall be excused from the
further payment of registration fees.

(4) No registration fee is required of any attorney during the period he or she
may be serving in the office of justice, judge, associate judge or magistrate of a
court of the United States of America or the State of Illinois or the office of
judicial law clerk, administrative assistant, secretary or assistant secretary to such



a justice, judge, associate judge or magistrate, or during any period in which he
or she is receiving a retirement annuity pursuant to Title 28, Chapter 17 of the
United States Code or Chapter 40, Act 5, Article 18 of the Illinois Compiled
Statutes.

(4) No registration fee is required of any attorney during the period he or she
is serving in one of the following offices in the judicial branch:

(A) in the office of justice, judge, associate judge or magistrate of a court
of the United States of America or the State of Illinois; or

(B) in the office of judicial law clerk, administrative assistant, secretary
or assistant secretary to such a justice, judge, associate judge or magistrate,
or in any other office included within the Supreme Court budget that assists
the Supreme Court in its adjudicative responsibilities, provided that the
exemption applies only if the attorney is prohibited by the terms of his or her
employment from actively engaging in the practice of law.

(5) An attorney may advise the Administrator in writing that he or she desires
to assume inactive status and, thereafter, register as an inactive status attorney.
The annual registration fee for an inactive status attorney shall be $105. Upon
such registration, the attorney shall be placed upon inactive status and shall no
longer be eligible to practice law or hold himself or herself out as being
authorized to practice law in this state, except as is provided in paragraph (j) of
this rule. An attorney who is on the master roll as an inactive status attorney may
advise the Administrator in writing that he or she desires to resume the practice
of law, and thereafter register as active upon payment of the registration fee
required under this rule and submission of verification from the Director of
MCLE that he or she has complied with MCLE requirements as set forth in Rule
790 et seq. If the attorney returns from inactive status after having paid the
inactive status fee for the year, the attorney shall pay the difference between the
inactive status registration fee and the registration fee required under paragraphs
(a)(1) through (a)(4) of this rule. Inactive status under this rule does not include
inactive disability status as described in Rules 757 and 758. Any lawyer on
inactive disability status is not required to pay an annual fee.

(6) An attorney may advise the Administrator in writing that he or she desires
to assume retirement status and, thereafter, register as a retired attorney. Upon
such registration, the attorney shall be placed upon retirement status and shall no
longer be eligible to practice law or hold himself or herself out as being
authorized to practice law in this state, except as is provided in paragraph (j) of
this rule. The retired attorney is relieved thereafter from the annual obligation to
register and pay the registration fee. A retired attorney may advise the
Administrator in writing that he or she desires to register as an active or inactive
status lawyer and, thereafter so register upon payment of the fee required for the
current year for that registration status, plus the annual registration fee that the
attorney would have been required to pay if registered as active for each of the
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years during which the attorney was on retirement status. If the lawyer seeks to
register as active, he or she must also submit, as part of registering, verification
from the Director of MCLE of the lawyer’s compliance with MCLE requirements
as set forth in Rule 790 et seq.

(7) An attorney who is on voluntary inactive status pursuant to former Rule
770 who wishes to register for any year after 1999 shall file a petition for
restoration under Rule 759. If the petition is granted, the attorney shall advise the
Administrator in writing whether he or she wishes to register as active, inactive
or retired, and shall pay the fee required for that status for the year in which the
restoration order is entered. Any such attorney who petitions for restoration after
December 31, 2000, shall pay a sum equal to the annual registration fees that the
attorney would have been required to pay for each full year after 1999 during
which the attorney remained on Rule 770 inactive status without payment of a
fee.

(8) Upon written application and for good cause shown, the Administrator
may excuse the payment of any registration fee in any case in which payment
thereof will cause undue hardship to the attorney.

(9) Permanent Retirement Status. An attorney may file a petition with the
court requesting that he or she be placed on permanent retirement status. All of
the provisions of retirement status enumerated in Rule 756(a)(6) shall apply,
except that an attorney who is granted permanent retirement status may not
thereafter change his or her registration designation to active or inactive status,
petition for reinstatement pursuant to Rule 767, or provide pro bono services as
otherwise allowed under paragraph (j) of this rule.

(A) The petition for permanent retirement status must be accompanied by
a consent from the Administrator, consenting to permanent retirement status.
If the petition is not accompanied by a consent from the Administrator, it
shall be denied.

(B) An attorney shall not be permitted to assume permanent retirement
status if:

1. there is a pending disciplinary proceeding against the attorney before
the Hearing Board or a complaint has been voted against the attorney by the
Inquiry Board;

2. there is a pending investigation against the attorney that involves:

a. an allegation that the attorney converted funds or misappropriated
funds or property of a client or third party;

b. an allegation that the attorney engaged in criminal conduct that
reflects adversely on the attorney’s honesty; or 

c. the alleged conduct resulted in or is likely to result in actual 
prejudice (loss of money, legal rights, or valuable property rights) to a
client or other person, unless restitution has been made; or
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3. the attorney retains an active license to practice law in jurisdictions
other than the State of Illinois.

C. If permanent retirement status is granted, the Administrator and/or the
Inquiry Board shall close any pending disciplinary investigation of the
attorney. The Administrator may resume such investigations pursuant to
Commission Rule 54 and may initiate additional investigations and
proceedings of the attorney as circumstances warrant.

(b) The Master Roll. The Administrator shall prepare a master roll of attorneys
consisting of the names of attorneys who have registered and have paid or are exempt
from paying the registration fee. The Administrator shall maintain the master roll in
a current status. At all times a copy of the master roll shall be on file in the office of
the clerk of the court. An attorney who is not listed on the master roll is not entitled
to practice law or to hold himself or herself out as authorized to practice law in this
state. An attorney listed on the master roll as on inactive or retirement status shall not
be entitled to practice law or to hold himself or herself out as authorized to practice
law in Illinois, except as is provided in paragraph (j) of this rule.

(c) Notice of Registration. On or before the first day of November of each year
the Administrator shall mail to each attorney on the master roll a notice that annual
registration is required on or before the first day of January of the following year. It
is the responsibility of each attorney on the master roll to notify the Administrator of
any change of address within 30 days of the change. Failure to receive the notice
from the Administrator shall not constitute an excuse for failure to register.

(d) Disclosure of Trust Accounts. As part of registering under this rule, each
lawyer shall identify any and all accounts maintained by the lawyer during the
preceding 12 months to hold property of clients or third persons in the lawyer’s
possession in connection with a representation, as required under Rule 1.15(a) of the
Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct, by providing the account name, account
number and financial institution for each account. For each account, the lawyer shall
also indicate whether each account is an IOLTA account, as defined in Rule 1.15(d)
of the Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct. If a lawyer does not maintain a trust
account, the lawyer shall state the reason why no such account is required.

(e) Disclosure of Malpractice Insurance. As part of registering under this rule,
each lawyer shall disclose whether the lawyer has malpractice insurance on the date
of the registration, and if so, shall disclose the dates of coverage for the policy. The
Administrator may conduct random audits to assure the accuracy of information
reported. Each lawyer shall maintain, for a period of seven years from the date the
coverage is reported, documentation showing the name of the insurer, the policy
number, the amount of coverage and the term of the policy, and shall produce such
documentation upon the Administrator’s request. The requirements of this subsection
shall not apply to attorneys serving in the office of justice, judge, associate judge or
magistrate as defined in subparagraph (a)(4) of this rule on the date of registration.

 (f) Disclosure of Voluntary Pro Bono Service. As part of registering under this
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rule, each lawyer shall report the approximate amount of his or her pro bono legal
service and the amount of qualified monetary contributions made during the
preceding 12 months.

(1) Pro bono legal service includes the delivery of legal services or the provision
of training without charge or expectation of a fee, as defined in the following
subparagraphs:

(a) legal services rendered to a person of limited means;

(b) legal services to charitable, religious, civic, community, governmental
or educational organizations in matters designed to address the needs of
persons of limited means;

(c) legal services to charitable, religious, civic, or community
organizations in matters in furtherance of their organizational purposes; and

(d) training intended to benefit legal service organizations or lawyers who
provide pro bono services.

In a fee case, a lawyer’s billable hours may be deemed pro bono when the client
and lawyer agree that further services will be provided voluntarily. Legal services for
which payment was expected, but is uncollectible, do not qualify as pro bono legal
service.

(2) Pro bono legal service to persons of limited means refers not only to those
persons whose household incomes are below the federal poverty standard, but also
to those persons frequently referred to as the “working poor.” Lawyers providing pro
bono legal service need not undertake an investigation to determine client eligibility.
Rather, a good-faith determination by the lawyer of client eligibility is sufficient.

(3) Qualified monetary contribution means a financial contribution to an
organization as enumerated in subparagraph (1)(b) which provides legal services to
persons of limited means or which contributes financial support to such an
organization.

(4) As part of the lawyer’s annual registration fee statement, the report required
by subsection (f) shall be made by answering the following questions:

(a) Did you, within the past 12 months, provide any pro bono legal services
as described in subparagraphs (1) through (4) below? ____ Yes ____ No

If no, are you prohibited from providing legal services because of your
employment? ____ Yes ____ No

If yes, identify the approximate number of hours provided in each of the
following categories where the service was provided without charge or
expectation of a fee:

(1) hours of legal services to a person/persons of limited means;

(2) hours of legal services to charitable, religious, civic, community,
governmental or educational organizations in matters designed to address the
needs of persons of limited means;
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(3) hours of legal services to charitable, religious, civic or community
organizations in furtherance of their organizational purposes; and

(4) hours providing training intended to benefit legal service
organizations or lawyers who provide pro bono services.

Legal services for which payment was expected, but is not collectible, do not
qualify as pro bono services and should not be included.

(b) Have you made a monetary contribution to an organization which
provides legal services to persons of limited means or which contributes financial
support to such organization? ____ Yes ____ No

If yes, approximate amount: $_____.

(5) Information provided pursuant to this subsection (f) shall be deemed
confidential pursuant to the provisions of Rule 766, but the Commission may report
such information in the aggregate.

(g) Removal from the Master Roll. On February 1 of each year the
Administrator shall remove from the master roll the name of any person who has not
registered for that year. A lawyer will be deemed not registered for the year if the
lawyer has failed to provide trust account information required by paragraph (d) of
this rule or if the lawyer has failed to provide information concerning malpractice
coverage required by paragraph (e) or information on voluntary pro bono service
required by paragraph (f) of this rule. Any person whose name is not on the master
roll and who practices law or who holds himself or herself out as being authorized
to practice law in this state is engaged in the unauthorized practice of law and may
also be held in contempt of the court.

(h) Reinstatement to the Master Roll. An attorney whose name has been
removed from the master roll solely for failure to register and pay the registration fee
may be reinstated as a matter of course upon registering and paying the registration
fee prescribed for the period of his suspension, plus the sum of $25 per month for
each month that such registration fee is delinquent.

(i) No Effect on Disciplinary Proceedings. The provisions of this rule pertaining
to registration status shall not bar, limit or stay any disciplinary investigations or
proceedings against an attorney except to the extent provided in Rule 756(a)(9)
regarding permanent retirement status.

(j) Pro Bono Authorization for Inactive and Retired Status Attorneys and
House Counsel. 

(1) Authorization to Provide Pro Bono Services. Notwithstanding the limitations
on practice for attorneys who register as inactive or retired as set forth in Rule
756(a)(5) or (a)(6), or for attorneys admitted as house counsel pursuant to Rule 716,
such an attorney shall be authorized to provide pro bono legal services under the
following circumstances:

(a) without charge or an expectation of a fee by the attorney;
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(b) to persons of limited means or to organizations, as defined in paragraph
(f) of this rule; and 

(c) under the auspices of a sponsoring entity, which must be a not-for-profit
legal services organization, governmental entity, law school clinical program, or
bar association providing pro bono legal services as defined in paragraph (f)(1)
of this rule.

(2) Duties of Sponsoring Entities. In order to qualify as a sponsoring entity, an
organization must submit to the Administrator an application identifying the nature
of the organization as one described in section (j)(1)(c) of this rule and describing any
program for providing pro bono services which the entity sponsors and in which
retired or inactive lawyers or house counsel may participate. In the application, a
responsible attorney shall verify that the program will provide appropriate training
and support and malpractice insurance for volunteers and that the sponsoring entity
will notify the Administrator as soon as any attorney authorized to provide services
under this rule has ended his or her participation in the program. The organization is
required to provide malpractice insurance coverage for any retired or inactive lawyers
or house counsel participating in the program. To continue to qualify under this rule,
a sponsoring entity shall be required to submit an annual statement verifying the
continuation of any programs and describing any changes in programs in which
retired or inactive lawyers or house counsel may participate.

(3) Procedure for Attorneys Seeking Authorization to Provide Pro Bono Services.
An attorney registered as inactive or retired or admitted as house counsel who seeks
to provide pro bono services under this rule shall submit a statement to the
Administrator so indicating, along with a verification from a sponsoring entity or
entities that the attorney will be participating in a pro bono program under the
auspices of that entity. The attorney’s statement shall include the attorney’s
agreement that he or she will participate in any training required by the sponsoring
entity and that he or she will notify the Administrator within 30 days of ending his
or her participation in a pro bono program. Upon receiving the attorney’s statement
and the entity’s verification, the Administrator shall cause the master roll to reflect
that the attorney is authorized to provide pro bono services. That authorization shall
continue until the end of the calendar year in which the statement and verification are
submitted, unless the lawyer or the sponsoring entity sends notice to the
Administrator that the program or the lawyer’s participation in the program has
ended.

(4) Renewal of Authorization. An attorney who has been authorized to provide
pro bono services under this rule may renew the authorization on an annual basis by
submitting a statement that he or she continues to participate in a qualifying program,
along with verification from the sponsoring entity that the attorney continues to
participate in such a program under the entity’s auspices and that the attorney has
taken part in any training required by the program.

(5) Annual Registration for Attorneys on Retired Status. Notwithstanding the
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provisions of Rule 756(a)(6), a retired status attorney who seeks to provide pro bono
services under this rule must register on an annual basis, but is not required to pay a
registration fee.

(6) MCLE Exemption. The provisions of Rule 791 exempting attorneys from
MCLE requirements by reason of being registered as inactive or retired shall apply
to inactive or retired status attorneys authorized to provide pro bono services under
this rule, except that such attorneys shall participate in training to the extent required
by the sponsoring entity.

Adopted January 25, 1973, effective February 1, 1973; amended effective May 17,
1973, April 1, 1974, and February 17, 1977; amended August 9, 1983, effective October
1, 1983; amended April 27, 1984, and June 1, 1984, effective July 1, 1984; amended
July 1, 1985, effective August 1, 1985; amended effective November 1, 1986; amended
December 1, 1988, effective December 1, 1988; amended November 20, 1991, effective
immediately; amended June 29, 1999, effective November 1, 1999; amended July 6,
2000, effective November 1, 2000; amended July 26, 2001, effective immediately;
amended October 4, 2002, effective immediately; amended June 15, 2004, effective
October 1, 2004; amended May 23, 2005, effective immediately; amended September
29, 2005, effective immediately; amended June 14, 2006, effective immediately;
amended September 14, 2006, effective immediately; amended March 26, 2008,
effective July 1, 2008; amended July 29, 2011, effective September 1, 2011; amended
June 5, 2012, eff. immediately.

Amended Rule 778

Rule 778. Retention of Records by Administrator 

(a) Retention of Records. The Administrator is permitted to retain the record of
investigation for all matters resulting in the imposition of discipline as defined by
Rule 770 , for investigations which have been stayed or deferred by the transfer of
the attorney to disability inactive status, or for investigations that have resulted in the
filing of unauthorized practice of law proceedings.

(b) Expungement. The Administrator shall expunge the record of an
investigation concluded by dismissal or closure by the Administrator or Inquiry
Board three years after the disposition of the investigation, unless deferral of
expunction is warranted under paragraph (c). Expungement shall consist of the
Administrator’s destruction of the investigative file and other related materials
maintained by the Administrator relating to the attorney, including any computer
record identifying the attorney as a subject of an investigation. 

(c) Deferral of Expungement of Investigative Materials. Expungement of an
investigative file and all related materials under paragraph (b) shall be deferred until
the passage of three years from the later of the following events: 

(1) the conclusion of any pending disciplinary or disability proceeding related
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to the attorney before the Hearing or Review Boards or the Court; or 

(2) the termination of any previously imposed sanction (including suspension,
disbarment or probation) or the restoration of the attorney from disability inactive
to active status.; or

(3) the termination of any permanent retirement status related to the attorney. 

Adopted January 5, 1993, effective immediately; amended June 29, 1999, effective
November 1, 1999; amended December 16, 2010, effective immediately; amended
December 7, 2011, effective immediately; amended June 5, 2012, eff. immediately.

Amended Rule 791

Rule 791. Persons Subject to MCLE Requirements

(a) Scope and Exemptions

These Rules shall apply to every attorney admitted to practice law in the State of
Illinois, except for the following persons, who shall be exempt from the Rules’
requirements:

(1) All attorneys on inactive or retirement status pursuant to Supreme Court
Rules 756(a)(5) or (a)(6), respectively, or on inactive status pursuant to the
former Supreme Court Rule 770 or who have previously been placed on
voluntarily removed status by the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary
Commission (“ARDC”);

(2) All attorneys on disability inactive status pursuant to Supreme Court
Rules 757 or 758;

(3) All attorneys serving in the office of justice, judge, associate judge, or
magistrate of any federal or state court;

(4) All attorneys serving in the office of judicial law clerk, administrative
assistant, secretary, or assistant secretary to a justice, judge, associate judge or
magistrate of any federal court or any court of the State of Illinois, or in any other
office included within the Supreme Court budget that assists the Supreme Court
in its adjudicative responsibilities, and who are provided that the exemption
applies only if the attorney is prohibited by the terms of their his or her
employment from actively engaging in the practice of law;

(5) All attorneys licensed to practice law in Illinois who are on active duty in
the Armed Forces of the United States, until their release from active military
service and their return to the active practice of law;

(6) An attorney otherwise subject to this rule is entitled to an exemption if the
attorney meets all of these criteria: 

(i) the attorney is a member of the bar of another state which has a
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comparable minimum continuing legal education requirement or is licensed
to practice law under a limited license issued by another state which has a
comparable minimum continuing legal education requirement;

(ii) the individual attorney’s only or primary office is in that other state
or, if the attorney has no office, the individual attorney’s only or primary
residence is in that state;

(iii) the attorney is required by that state to complete credits to be in
compliance with the continuing legal education requirements established by
court rule or legislation in that state; and

(iv) the attorney has appropriate proof that he or she is in full compliance
with the continuing legal education requirements established by court rule or
legislation in that state; and

(7) In rare cases, upon a clear showing of good cause, the Minimum
Continuing Legal Education Board (“Board”) may grant a temporary exemption
to an attorney from the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (“MCLE”)
requirements, or an extension of time in which to satisfy them. Good cause for
an exemption or extension may exist in the event of illness, financial hardship,
or other extraordinary or extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the
attorney. Attorneys denied a temporary exemption or extension may request
reconsideration of the initial decision made by the Director of MCLE
(“Director”) by filing a request in a form approved by the Board (or a
substantially similar form) no later than 30 days after the Director’s initial
decision. The Director shall decide the request for reconsideration within 30 days
of its receipt, and promptly notify the attorney. If the Director denies the request,
the attorney shall have 30 days from the date of that denial to submit an appeal
to the full Board for consideration at its next scheduled Board meeting.
Submission of a request for reconsideration or an appeal does not stay any MCLE
compliance deadlines or MCLE fee payments.

(b) Full Exemptions

An attorney shall be exempt from these Rules for an entire reporting period
applicable to that attorney, if:

(1) The attorney is exempt from these Rules pursuant to paragraphs (a)(1),
(a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4),(a)(5), or (a)(6), on the last day of that reporting period; or

(2) The attorney is exempt from these Rules pursuant to paragraphs (a)(1),
(a)(2), (a)(3), (a)(4), (a)(5), or (a)(6), for at least 365 days of that reporting period;
or

(3) The attorney receives a temporary exemption from the Board pursuant to
paragraph (a)(7), for that reporting period.

(c) Partial Exemptions 

An attorney who is exempt from these Rules for more than 60, but less than 365,
days of a two-year reporting period, and who is not exempt for the entire reporting
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period pursuant to paragraph (b), shall be required to earn one-half of the CLE
activity hours that would otherwise be required pursuant to Rules 794(a) and (d).

(d) Nonexemptions

An attorney who is exempt from these Rules for less than 61 days during a two-
year reporting period, and who is not exempt for the entire reporting period pursuant
to paragraph (b), shall be required to earn all of the CLE activity hours required
pursuant to Rules 794(a) and (d). 

(e) Resuming Active Status

An attorney who was exempt from these Rules, pursuant to paragraphs (b)(1) or
(b)(2), above, for the attorney’s last completed reporting period because the attorney
was on inactive, retirement or disability inactive status pursuant to Supreme Court
Rules756(a)(5) or (a)(6), 757 or 758, shall upon return to active status, have 24
months to complete the deferred CLE requirements, not to exceed two times the
requirement for the current two-year reporting period, in addition to the CLE credit
required for the current two-year reporting period.

(f) Attorneys on Discipline Status

Paragraphs (f)(1) and (2) shall apply to attorneys on discipline status for reporting
periods ending June 30, 2012, and thereafter.

(1) Discipline Imposed Pursuant to Rules 770(a), (b), (c) and (e)

(i) An attorney whose discipline is imposed pursuant to Rules 770(a), (b), (c)
and (e) is not required to comply with the MCLE requirements for any reporting
period in which the discipline is in effect.

(ii) If the attorney is reinstated to the master roll by order of the Supreme
Court (“Court”), the attorney must thereafter earn no less than 30 hours of MCLE
credit and no more than 90 hours of MCLE credit which will be set by the MCLE
Board based on the length of the attorney’s discipline and whether credits need
to be earned for the current reporting period. Those MCLE credits shall be earned
and reported to the MCLE Board no later than 365 days after entry of the order
reinstating the attorney to the master roll. The attorney shall contact the MCLE
Board promptly after entry of the order reinstating the attorney to the master roll
to establish the number of credits that need to be earned by the attorney. The
attorney may apply any MCLE credits earned while the discipline imposed
pursuant to Rules 770(a), (b), (c) or (e) was in effect. If the attorney does not earn
the needed credits and report no later than 365 days after entry of the order
reinstating the attorney to the master roll, the attorney shall pay a late fee, in an
amount as set by the Board in the Court-approved fee schedule, and the attorney
shall be referred to the ARDC pursuant to Rule 796(e). A reinstated attorney then
needs to comply with the MCLE requirements for the two-year reporting period
that begins after the attorney’s reinstatement and all reporting periods thereafter.

(2) Discipline Pursuant to Rules 770(d), (f), (g) and (h)

An attorney whose discipline is imposed pursuant to Rules 770(d), (f), (g) and
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(h) is required to comply with the MCLE requirements for all reporting periods
in which the discipline is in effect.

(g) Foreign Legal Consultants

Beginning with the reporting period ending June 30, 2012 and thereafter, the
MCLE Rules do not apply to foreign legal consultants licensed under Rule 712.

Adopted September 29, 2005, effective immediately; amended December 6, 2005,
effective immediately; amended February 10, 2006, effective immediately; amended
September 27, 2011, effective immediately; amended December 7, 2011, effective
immediately; amended June 5, 2012, eff. immediately.

Amended Rule 799

Rule 799. Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism

(a) Purpose

The Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism is hereby established in
order to promote among the lawyers and judges of Illinois principles of integrity,
professionalism and civility; to foster commitment to the elimination of bias and
divisiveness within the legal and judicial systems; and to ensure that those systems
provide equitable, effective and efficient resolution of problems and disputes for the
people of Illinois.

(b) Membership and Terms

(1) The Court shall appoint 14 members to the Commission, one of whom shall
be designated the Chair. These members shall include three individuals who are
faculty members at accredited Illinois law schools, two judges engaged in active
service in the trial courts of Illinois, one judge engaged in active service in the
appellate courts of Illinois, six practicing lawyers who are active members in good
standing of the Illinois bar and two nonlawyers who are active in public affairs in
Illinois. The Director of the Minimum Continuing Legal Education Program and the
Administrator of the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission shall serve
as ex-officio members in addition to the 14 members appointed by the Court but shall
have no vote.

(2) In addition to the members described above, the Chief Justice may invite to
serve on the Commission a judge of the United States District Courts located in
Illinois.

(3) The appointed members of the Commission shall be selected with regard to
their reputations for professionalism, and for their past contributions to the bar and
to their communities, to the extent feasible, the appointees should reflect a diversity
of geography, practice areas, race, ethnicity, and gender.

(4) Members of the Commission shall be appointed for terms of three years,
except that in making initial appointments to the Commission, the Court may limit
appointments to ensure that the terms of the Commission’s members are staggered,
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so that no more than one third of the members’ terms expire in any given year.

(5) None of the members of the Commission shall receive compensation for their
service, but all members shall be reimbursed for their necessary expenses.

(c) Duties

The Commission’s duties shall include:

(1) Creating and promoting an awareness of professionalism by all members of
the Illinois bar and bench;

(2) Gathering and maintaining information to serve as a resource on
professionalism for lawyers, judges, court personnel, and members of the public;

(3) Developing public statements on principles of ethical and professional
responsibility for distribution to the bench and bar for purposes of encouraging,
guiding and assisting individual lawyers, law firms and bar associations on the ethical
and professional tenets of the profession;

(4) Assisting CLE providers with the development of courses and activities
offered to fulfill the professional responsibility requirement for minimum continuing
legal education under Rule 794(d)(1);

(5) Determining and publishing criteria for, monitoring, coordinating, and
approving, courses and activities offered to fulfill the professional responsibility
requirement for minimum continuing legal education under Rule 794(d)(1);

(6) Reviewing and approving the content of courses and activities offered to
fulfill the professional responsibility requirement for minimum continuing legal
education under Rule 794(d)(1) and forwarding the Commission’s determination to
the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) Board;

(7) Monitoring activities related to professionalism outside the State of Illinois;

(8) Collaborating with law schools in the development and presentation of
professionalism programs for law student orientation and other events as coordinated
with law school faculty;

(9) Facilitating cooperation among practitioners, bar associations, law schools,
courts, civic and lay organizations and others in addressing matters of
professionalism, ethics, and public understanding of the legal profession; and

(10) Recommending to the Court other methods and means of improving the
profession and accomplishing the purposes of this Commission.

The Commission shall have no authority to impose discipline upon any member
of the Illinois bar or bench, or to exercise any duties or responsibilities belonging to
either the Judicial Inquiry Board, the Attorney Registration and Disciplinary
Commission, the Board of Admissions to the Bar, or the MCLE Board.

(d) Administration

(1) The Commission shall have the authority to appoint, with the approval of the
Supreme Court, an Executive Director, who shall be an attorney who is an active
member in good standing of the Illinois bar. The Executive Director shall have the
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authority to hire such additional staff as necessary to perform the Commission’s
responsibilities.

(2) The Commission shall meet at least twice a year and at other times at the call
of the Chair. A majority of its members shall constitute a quorum for any action.
Meetings may be held at any place within the state and may also be held by means
of telecommunication that permits reasonably accurate and contemporaneous
participation by the members attending by such means.

(3) The Chair may appoint committees of members and assign them to such
responsibilities, consistent with the purposes, powers and duties of the Commission,
as the Chair may deem appropriate.

(4) The Commission shall file annually with the Court an accounting of the
monies received and expended for its activities, and there shall be an annual
independent audit of the funds as directed by the court, the expenses of which shall
be paid out of the fund.

(5) The Commission shall submit an annual report to the Court describing and
evaluating the effectiveness of its activities.

(6) Approving CLE Programs.

(i) The Commission shall receive from the MCLE Board applications for
accreditation of those courses and activities offered to fulfill the professional
responsibility requirement for minimum continuing legal education under Rule
794(d)(1). The Commission shall establish procedures for approval of such
courses or activities consistent with the criteria published under paragraph (c)(5)
of this rule. Professional responsibility courses and activities, the content of
which is approved by the Commission, shall be forwarded to the MCLE Board
for accreditation. Absent Commission approval, such courses and activities are
not eligible for CLE accreditation. The Commission shall complete its review as
expeditiously as possible and with regard to the applicable time lines contained
in Rule 795.

(ii) Providers that have been designated “Accredited Continuing Legal
Education Providers” under Rule 795(b) must, in addition to that accreditation,
obtain Commission approval of any course or activity offered to fulfill the
professional responsibility requirement of Rule 794(d)(1), but will not be
required to pay an accreditation fee in addition to the fee the provider has paid to
the Minimum Continuing Legal Education Board.

(e) Funding

The Commission shall be funded by an annual assessment as provided in Rule
756.

Adopted September 29, 2005, effective immediately; amended December 6, 2005,
effective immediately; amended June 5, 2007, effective immediately; amended
September 27, 2011, effective immediately; amended June 5, 2012, eff. immediately.
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