

May 6, 2024

JUSTICE LISA HOLDER WHITE TO ADMINISTER OATH TO NEW ATTORNEYS IN SPRINGFIELD

Justice Lisa Holder White of the Illinois Supreme Court will administer the attorney's oath to nine new lawyers on Wednesday, May 8, in the Fourth Judicial District.

The group is among 300 individuals who will be sworn in and admitted to the practice of law in Illinois during bar admission ceremonies held in the state's five Supreme Court judicial districts.

The bar admission ceremony in the Fourth Judicial District will begin at 11 a.m. at the Supreme Court Building Courtroom at 200 East Capitol Avenue in Springfield.

Justice Holder White will preside over the ceremony.

The keynote speaker for the ceremony will be Fourth District Appellate Justice Amy Lannerd. Also speaking will be John Kim of the Commission on Professionalism and Perry Browder, Third Vice President of the Illinois State Bar Association.

Guests of the Illinois Supreme Court will include Attorney General Kwame Raoul, Fourth District Appellate Presiding Justice Peter Cavanagh, Eighth Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Frank McCartney, Eleventh Judicial Circuit Chief Judge John Costigan, U.S. Magistrate Judge Karen McNaught, and U.S. District Judges Sue Myerscough and Colleen Lawless.

Fourth District Appellate Justice David Vancil, whose son will be taking the attorney's oath during the ceremony, will make the motion to admit the class and Fourth District Appellate Justice Eugene Doherty will second the motion.

Justice Holder White will rule on the motion, administer the attorney's oath, and make remarks. A reception hosted by the Illinois State Bar Association will follow the ceremony.

All of the candidates have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and a required ethics examination and were certified by the Supreme Court Committee on Character and Fitness.

The new attorneys sworn in at the May 8 bar admission ceremonies will bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 97,000. In addition to Springfield, ceremonies will be held Wednesday in Chicago, Elgin, Ottawa, and Mt. Vernon.

The Fourth Judicial District is composed of 41 counties: Adams, Boone, Brown, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macoupin, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Winnebago and Woodford.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: James Brunner, Public Information Officer of the Illinois Supreme Court at 217.208.3354 or jbrunner@illinoiscourts.gov)